There are days I seriously wonder if my teenagers are ever going to get to the point of being mature, responsible adults.  Heck….there are days I wonder if Hun is ever going to mature!!  Burping contests at the dinner table, farts in the car while frantically trying to roll down windows and crudely told jokes are the norm when all four kids and Hun are in a good mood.  At least we have lots of laughter during these times – even if I am highly grossed out by most of it (unless I’m winning at whatever current contest of the moment that is…. HEY!  I never said I was a saint!).

That said – there are moments when I see a glimpse of what the kids might be like when they finally do mature.  Here are some recent examples:

Monkey just commented recently that she’s sorry she wished for a certain event to happen to her (which happens to all young girls at some point).  She said now that it is here, she hates it and everything that goes with it.  She said she shouldn’t rush growing up and just enjoy being a kid.  I couldn’t have agreed with her more!

Rowdy is still giving us grief, but has his moments as well.  Today, he actually thanked me for helping him and held the door open for me.  He asked if I needed any help with anything and jumped to do his chores with only one request.  I think I’m currently in the eye of the storm right now with him as he just blew up at Hun and me a few days ago, but this current attitude is a welcome relief.  He will be an awesome adult one day…..eventually…..

Candy Corn Oreos

Buddy has always acted more mature than his age.  Sometimes I wondered if he would ever act like a child since he always seems more adult than he actually is.  With him, when he acts childish and crazy is when I notice the difference and it makes me glad.  This morning was a rare gem for him.

Somehow we got onto the subject of the new, limited edition, Candy Corn Oreo cookie.  Buddy thought it wouldn’t taste very good and I agreed with him.  Neither of us cares for anything super-sweet and this item seems to fit the bill.  And then Buddy made the comment that had me chuckling all the way to work:

“I think they sound pretty corny to me!”