Tentative knock on my bedroom door.

Buddy (in a quiet, worried voice):  Mom…..can I talk to you?

Me:  (thoughts flashing rapidly through my mind…oh dear….what’s going on now?  He sounds worried.  He sounds like he’s in trouble, he did something wrong.  Did he wreck the car?  He didn’t say anything when I walked in the house, that can’t be it.  School work troubles?  No – he never worries about those.  Issues trying to find a job?  Maybe…but we already had that conversation.  What is it?  What Is It??  WHAT IS IT!?!):  Come in

Buddy (something’s definitely wrong!):  Mom….uh….mom….I need to talk to you….uh…

Me:  What’s the matter?

Buddy (face matches his speech, worried, concerned, waiting for bad news):  Uh…well….I don’t know how this happened….

Me:  ….

Buddy:  You see….uh….it’s my….phone….

Me:  (whew!  Oh thank goodness!  I can handle phone issues today) Okay – what’s wrong with your phone?

Buddy:  Well…you see…my “Clash of Clans” keeps logging me out any time I try to open it. Let me show you.  (starts opening up the app)

Me (Really?!?  This is the BIG emergency?  I guess it is an emergency in his mind….): Do you know what the main purpose of a cell phone is?

Buddy (confused look on his face):  Uh….it’s a…..tool?

Me:  Yes, but it has a main purpose….what is it?

Buddy:  Uh……

Me:  It’s main purpose is to make calls.  It’s a tool to communicate between people.

Buddy:  Okay…..

Me:  Is anything else not working on the phone?

Buddy:  No

Me:  Okay, if the only thing not working on your phone is “Clash of Clans”, it’s not a big deal.  You don’t have to play that game on your phone.

Buddy (true panic on his face):  Okay…..

App finally comes up and sure enough, it’s sluggish and almost non-responsive.

Me (checked and saw he closes all apps, so it isn’t an issue with having too many apps opened at once): When was the last time you turned your phone off?

Buddy:  What?

Me:  Turned your phone off.  This is nothing more than a very small computer.  You have to give it time to reboot occasionally for it to work properly and reset its operating system.  Do you know how to turn the phone off?

Buddy:  Yes, but I haven’t done that in a long time.

Me:  Try that and see if that works.  If not, there’s something else we can try.

Buddy:  Okay – thanks Mom!! (as he’s running out of the room)

Me:  Hey!  I expect a hug if this works! (I yell after him)

 

There are days I wish all of our family problems boiled down to something as simple as a reboot.

 

About 15 minutes later, I was tackled in the kitchen with a bear hug and a “THANKS MOM!!!  THAT WORKED!!!”

Whew!  Crisis averted!

