This year brought many changes to my life.

I sometimes wonder if this year marks my mid-life crisis.

I turned 40 this year and as you can see from the last couple of posts, a lot of changes have happened to me and my life this year.

One day I saw the beginning of a “new” trend – white tattoos.  I had been thinking about getting a tattoo for years….but nothing spoke to me; until I saw the first picture of a white tattoo.  The look is perfect for me – simple, elegant, understated, yet powerful.

I have no desire to “stand out”.  I have no reason to “make a statement”.  I don’t like following the crowd.  I do things for me and I don’t really care if someone else agrees with me or not.  It isn’t their life, it is mine.

I finally decided to take the plunge and get a tattoo.

So I researched the white tattoo trend and the potential drawbacks.  I found many articles such as this one.  I accepted and understood the risks and started looking for a design, shop and artist whom I was willing to sacrifice my virgin body to.

I found the inspiration for my tattoo quickly.  It spoke to me deeply and reaffirmed that it was time:

Arrow

Next was to find a shop.  The first shop I stopped in, I asked their opinion on white tattoos.  Their response was, “You don’t want one of those.”  When I asked why, they could only give me superficial answers, answers similar to the negative articles on why a white tattoo isn’t for everyone.  I immediately looked for another shop – after all, if your first response was that I didn’t want what I wanted, then I didn’t want you to do it.

I found similar responses at other shops.

And then I walked into Heart N Soul Tattoo in Lake Worth, Texas and met Cherry.  I asked her if she was familiar with white tattoos.  Her first question was, “Are you aware of the risks with a white tattoo?”  I rattled off what I had learned.  She stated simply, “You’ve researched this.  Do you want to see my work?”  When I said yes, she flipped a photo book open to a page filled with her white tattoo creations.

I made an appointment and I now proudly display this:

tattoo 1

Stay tuned to see what greatness I am launched into next!

