Recently, I was nominated for the Liebster Award by Jillian.  I am honored beyond words.

I’ve been having a hard time trying to figure out if I wanted to accept the award or not.  I do not want to be disrespectful to the readers of my blog – and to be nominated by a reader is humbling.

What I’m struggling with is the part of the award that encourages the nominee (me) to nominate other bloggers.

I’m barely keeping up with my own blog, let alone others.  I’m trying to make an effort to connect more with others who are posting, but it’s coming in fits and bursts.  Kind of like my life right now – my life is coming in fits and bursts.

So…to honor Jillian, who has bestowed a great honor on me, I am going to only partially accept the award.  Forgive me, but I won’t be nominating anyone else at this time because of how I’m currently keeping up with everyone I follow.  The blogs I do read are all wonderful, but I usually only get to the top 5-6 posts on my reader if I’m lucky.  If you posted recently, but fell in line behind 10 others that I follow, there’s a good chance I missed your post!  This is a failing of mine, not yours.

So, if you’re a blogger I follow reading this – feel free to nominate yourself – I promise, your blog deserves it!  I don’t follow crap.

I will post 11 random facts about myself and answer Jillian’s questions.  That much I can do.

Random facts:

  1. When I was young, I wanted to be a Dallas Cowboys cheerleader. I still want to be one, even if Hun commented that I wasn’t “pretty enough” to be one.  Yes, he’s still alive after that crack.
  2. I have no tattoos, but I’m seriously thinking about getting a small one. I have the idea, but not the design yet.
  3. I am a sponge – random information sticks in my head and won’t leave. This has been a blessing and a curse.
  4. I missed most of the pop-culture I should have grown up with in the 80’s and 90’s. Movie and music references are usually lost on me.
  5. I love costumes. The thought of dressing up to be someone else intrigues me.
  6. I believe myself to be a shy, introverted person – but to witness my actions people believe differently. I cannot claim to be introverted if I’m the first person to volunteer for a proposed adventure.
  7. I love to read, but have to do so selectively, when I know it won’t be an issue. Once I’ve started a good book, I will not put it down until it is done.  Who needs sleep anyway?
  8. My original career choices in school were (in this order) – bartender, archeologist, oceanographer, astrologer, and costume designer. Not once did I expect to work at a hospital for 20 years (no, I’m not a nurse or a doctor – but I do work with nurses and doctors).
  9. I love cartoons, especially the old ones – Bugs Bunny, Tom and Jerry and anything that is generally believed to be too violent these days.
  10. I cannot remember a challenge I haven’t accepted – work, home, personal life – imply I cannot complete a task, I will prove you wrong.
  11. I’ve been blogging since July 2011. I have more posts than I do followers and that’s okay with me.  This blog isn’t meant to reach the masses – it’s just my life and while it is currently anonymous, it is meant to eventually be shared with my kids.  So they can know how much I do love them and how much I have struggled to do the right thing as a parent and step-parent – even if they didn’t agree with me at the time.

Jillian’s Questions:

  1. Do you want kids? If you already have them, did you always know you wanted them?
    • I have one biological son. I also have 3 step kids (2 girls and 1 boy) from this marriage and 2 step-daughters from my first marriage.  I always wanted kids.  I had an easy pregnancy and wanted to birth more children – that just didn’t happen.  Doesn’t mean my life is any less full.  I love all of my kids very much.
  2. How did you choose your blog name?
    • This is a hard question to answer. I’m not sure why I named it what I did.  I’ve thought about renaming it, but haven’t gotten around to it.
  3. Do you have any pets?
    • Yes – two furry, loveable, lick-a-lot, puppy mutts – Gomer and Honey. They’re beginning to grow old and I’m afraid they won’t be with us too much longer.
  4. Do you think it’s smart to blog on a set schedule?
    • I can’t even get my regular life on a set schedule – expecting my posts to come at regular intervals? Psshh….you and I are both dreaming!
  5. What do you think your best feature is?
    • I think my best feature is my eyelashes. Long and full and I don’t have to do much to them, I only wear mascara on the weekends, no other makeup.  Wearing sunglasses can get irritating – having the lashes rub on the lenses every time I blink is distracting.
  6. How do you feel about iPhones?
    • I have one, but I don’t have any opinion on the phone itself. At this point, I only have it because Apple is the only platform that supports my favorite app.
  7. Do you have a recurring dream?
    • Not recently, but I did when I was a kid. Bright, vivid colors, almost an amusement park type atmosphere, always ended with me approaching a house with a cellar entrance on the outside, knowing something scary was locked behind the cellar doors.  Never saw the creature, but I just knew it was there.  I had that dream multiple times; still remember it today, 30+ years later.
  8. What is this scariest thing you’ve ever done?
    • I’m not sure – depends on the time in my life. I was scared to death doing all of the following things:  I tried out for cheerleader in 8th grade, theater in 9th grade, officer on the drill team in 10thgrade, beauty pageant in 12th grade, accepting a supervising position of employees twice my age when I was 20 years old, divorcing my first husband and becoming a single mom at 22 years old, agreeing to accept 3 additional kids into my life (full time) around the age of 30, taking a job outside of my knowledge and skill-set at 35 years old, walking out on my current husband and contemplating divorce, again, just a few short months ago.  Doing these things have been scarier than the heights I’m afraid of, which is why the zip line I went on in Vegas back in June was a piece of cake!
  9. What is your favorite television show?
    • Scorpion, Survivor, Master Chef and Hell’s Kitchen are my current top favorites.  We don’t have cable, so I only get to see The Walking Dead after it’s been released well after the season (please don’t spoil anything for me!!).
  10. Do you work out?
    • No – but I was tricked by my doctor to agree to lose 10 pounds in the next 6 months. (pout!)
  11. Do you believe in astrology?
    • No – but I love reading my horoscope anyway and reading the different interpretations of what things mean – like the year I was born, my sign, etc. I do not allow anything that I read to dictate my fate – I am the master of my own fate, which is why struggling with depression is so difficult for me right now.  I view astrology and horoscopes purely as entertainment.

That’s it – there are my answers to the questions posed to me.

I am immensely honored.  Thank you for reading and sticking with me through my tiny slice of blog-o-sphere.

