I’m on an organization mission.

I am determined to find a way to make my life, my job and my home, run smoother.

To whatever extent possible, I am also attempting to help Hun and the kids get organized as well.

One of the comments the marriage counselor has made multiple times is, “In a family of ADD/ADHD people, you must find a way to break down your requests and expectations into lists that your family can follow without any issues.  This will help all of you – you not to be stressed that it isn’t getting done and them to know exactly what it is that you want them to do.”

Point taken.

So, I’ve been mulling over ways to accomplish this where they will actually use the lists without nagging from me.

The first thing I did was looked over my own home task list, stored on my phone, and considered which tasks I could delegate to someone else and be okay with them doing it.

The obvious first choice was Hun.

I “borrowed” his phone one day (aka – swiped it when he wasn’t looking) and started entering reminders into his task list.

Birthdays

Gift giving holidays

Medication reminders

Tasks around the house

Etc

I handed the phone back to him, let him know what I had done, he shrugged okay, and we both went on our merry little ways.

The next day….

“Bing!”

I hear a familiar sound from the other room, look down at my phone that I am holding and a smile slowly spread on my lips.

Hun walked into the room and looked at me.

“You know, you could have just asked me to clean the toilet instead of creating a reminder for me to do it.” As he walked into the bathroom to begin cleaning, I had to cover my mouth to hide my grin.

About an hour later, I hear another….

“Bing!”

A few seconds of silence and then….

“DAMMIT WOMAN!”

But the furnace filter was changed.  In less time than it took me to ask him and then remind him (multiple times) and without any nagging from me, the filter was changed.

I have done the same thing with Buddy’s phone (my old phone when I upgraded).  He’s been a little tougher to get on-track, but probably because this is his first smart-phone and he’s still drooling over 24 hour access to games.

So….the next time you hear a reminder tone, think of me and allow a smile to spread across your face because you can bet I’ll be smiling too!

“Bing!”

