It’s been a long time since I posted last.

Part of the reason is because my life has been busy.  I still have a husband, 4 kids, 2 dogs and a demanding job after all.

But…that’s not the real reason.   I’ve been thinking about my blog for a while now and the direction it had been headed. 

When I first started it, the intention was to share my “Adventures in Exercising” emails I had been sending out to friends and family.  Those emails were pretty funny if I do say so myself.  So…I started a blog and the first thing I posted about was “It’s The Little Things In Life”.  And then….slowly…over time…my actual life took over and my original intent slowly slipped away.

Instead, my blog took on the daily ups and downs of living with a husband, 4 kids, and a demanding job – along with dealing with ex-spouses, step-kids and the chaos that goes along with life.  In the middle of it all, I was also dealing with my thyroid going wonky and spiraling depression.

All of this came out in my writing.

At the same time I was going through this, a good friend of mine also began blogging.  She’s as wonderful in real life as she is on the internet and her personality naturally shines through.  Even in the middle of personal tragedy, her positive outlook on life just keeps showing how great she is.  And she was recognized for this by the blogging community.

For each award she received, I agreed wholeheartedly and cheer her on.  But…another thought crept into my head. 

It wasn’t jealously….I am very happy for my friend.

But…it was something else….

What if….what if….no one wanted to read about my life?

Who wants to read about a suburban housewife who is struggling in her job, dealing with ex-spouses and her own personal issues?

Not many was the answer that I kept coming back to in my own mind.  I tried posting about only the funny things happening, but the posts were getting fewer and fewer.  Not because I didn’t have funny things happening, those events just didn’t seem worth blogging about and took too much energy to think about.

So….I took a break and I thought about my blog…and the direction it is going and what I’m going to do about it. 

Do I want to keep blogging?

Do I want to change the direction of my writing?

Do I even want to keep going?

Well….yes….to all of my own questions.

So, what am I going to do about it?  I’m going to keep on keeping on. 

Just like my revelation that I was going to start being myself with my step-kids, I’m going to quit trying to be someone I’m not on my own blog.  That means you may read about my boring life.  You may read about one of the kids….again.  Or you may be subjected to another tirade regarding the ex-spouses (truly…they’re at it again).

All this means is I’m back and I’m back to being myself instead of being the person I think my readers want me to be.  I’m me and that’s what you’re going to get from me – in all of my glory.

I want to thank the readers who have stuck through this with me.  Without you, I’d just be typing to cyberspace.  I appreciate the feedback you do give me!

And Kate – keep being your wonderful self….I wouldn’t want you as a friend any other way!

