Have you ever receive an automated reply back from an email you sent to a recipient?  In this day and age, of course you have.

What about a “read receipt”?  You know, that little button/setting you click on important emails that you really NEED to know was actually received and/or read?

In my job, it has been requested that on certain emails I send out, a “read receipt” be included so that the audience in question, doctors, cannot claim they never received the email.

I sent out my first “read receipt” email this week.  One of the automatic replies I received back was the following:

Note: This Return Receipt only acknowledges that the message was displayed on the recipient’s computer. There is no guarantee that the recipient has read or understood the message contents.

I giggled all afternoon and was accused of being easily amused.

