Buddy cracks me up!

Now, you may be wondering why he cracks me up so much – after all, I don’t blog about him often.  When I do, it’s usually in reference to his father, Flotsam (which is almost never flattering to be talking about HIM).  Since I don’t talk about him often, for those of you who don’t know him, here’s a crash course regarding Buddy’s life:

At 10 months old, Buddy was diagnosed with scoliosis.  The scoliosis is severe enough that at age 2, he had 2 of his thoracic vertebrae fused together to attempt to slow down the curvature.  Because of the timing of the surgery and subsequent full body cast he had to wear for 3 months, he had to re-learn how to walk.  At age 3, he broke his femur at daycare and had to be in another full body cast for an additional 6 weeks and had to, yet again, re-learn how to walk.  (For those wondering, yes – there was a CPS investigation as to how his leg got broken.  No wrong-doing was found and I believe it due to circumstances at the time.)  He also had another major surgery in 4th grade on his lumbar vertebrae that involves screws, pins and rods and the physician believes he may yet need another as he continues to grow.

In the middle of dealing with Buddy’s initial diagnosis and subsequent surgery, I left Flotsam and dealt with being a single mother in the best way I knew how.  A lot of my coping skills wound up with me being introspective of my situation and allowing Buddy to do whatever he wanted without pushing for more from him – in short I was depressed and didn’t realize it.  At age 1, 2 and 3 years old – I didn’t think I needed to expect much from him.  I would try to read to him at these ages and Buddy would not physically let me – he would scream until I stopped, rip the book from my hand and throw it to the floor.  I remember thinking – fine!  He doesn’t want me to read to him right now, I won’t – we’ll just work on this aspect later in his life.

Unfortunately, with my own issues, I missed some major issues with Buddy as well, which included him being slow to speak.  While he has made progress in all other areas of his life over the last 15 years, he has always struggled with talking and in turn language as a whole.  He struggles reading the simplest things.  Reading a book is torture for him.  School work has always been two steps forward and one step back type of journey for him because of this.  To say I blame myself for his struggles is putting it mildly.

We’ve been fortunate to have teachers that have helped not only Buddy, but me as well in attempting to teach him better.  He has progressed from attending only special education classes with speech therapy, occupational therapy, and every other therapy the schools offered; to attending the main-stream classes with additional help as needed/necessary.  As he enters his freshman year of high school, the teachers regard his elementary and junior high school career as one of the successes at this point.

So – with this backdrop and context in mind, I would like to share the text I received from Buddy the other day.  Some days, it is a struggle for me to realize what he is attempting to say when we’re standing in front of each other – trying to interpret Buddy’s text-speak is another matter entirely.

This one needed no interpretation, concentration or hesitation:

Is it alright if I go out and get a job now, please

Why, yes – yes it is alright if you get a job…..now…..please!!

 

 

