Happy New Year everyone!

I’ve been seeing so many articles lately about resolutions for the New Year that I’m already tired of them.  I’ve decided to make my list of resolutions for the year though – just to keep up with everyone else – because I know someone somewhere will ask me what mine are.  So – here they are, in no particular order:

  • I resolve to never ever make another resolution as long as I continue to experience new years.

Yep – that’s the long and short of it.  I think I may actually be able to keep this resolution for a change!  And, if by some chance I break my resolution….I won’t feel guilty about it. 

In fact, when and/or if I do break my resolution and mistakenly make a resolution and the inevitable happens and I break that resolution – my point will have been made that I should have never bothered making a resolution in the first place!

Win-win!!

I don’t know why I haven’t thought of doing this before now.  Surely I’m not the only one to have finally had this revelation?  Where are the others decidedly deciding that they are no longer making any resolutions – only to feel guilty hours, days, weeks, months later when they’re unable to continue in their well-intentioned ways?

Instead of resolutions, I think I’ll start a new tradition – New Year Intentions:  Those things you would like to do more of, but won’t feel guilty about when they don’t happen.

Such as:

  • Say yes more often.  A good friend of mine did this a couple of years ago and she loves the results for the most part.  I’m going to follow in her footsteps and make this my intent for this year.  If I have to say no to something – no harm, no foul – I intend to say yes remember?  I can’t help it if this time I have to say no.
  • Walk my dogs more.  They love going for walks and I don’t take them often enough.  If I’m unable to take them, they still get plenty of exercise and since they don’t read or speak fluent English (although, strangely enough, they know the word walk), they won’t know that I’m slacking on my intents.
  • Drink more water.  Someone will have the nerve to tell me to quit drinking my favorite drink – Dr Pepper – and I’ll have to restrain myself from wanting to gouge their eyes out.  So, I’ll just intend to drink more water instead of cutting back on Dr P.

I think I can handle these intentions.  I think I can even follow through on my intentions. 

What about you – are you going to be another one of the schlubs that makes resolutions that get broken so easily or are you going to join with me on the new tradition of New Year Intentions?

