It was a dark and stormy night…..

No, wait – that’s not right.  Let’s try this again:

Once upon a time…..

Oops!  Wrong thread!

It was the best of times; it was the worst of times…..

Ugh!  What am I trying to say??

I know….

Sitting on the couch, typing away on my new laptop, everything in the house happening like clock-work on a quiet evening, when suddenly…….

Yeah!  That’s better!  Let’s continue in that frame of mind:

When suddenly, Monkey exclaims from the kitchen – There are bubbles EVERYWHERE in here!  HELP!

Sure enough, walking into the kitchen, there are bubbles flowing out of the dishwasher like a bad movie plot line.  Not quite ankle deep, but lots of bubbles anyway.  More, way more, than there is supposed to be flowing out of the dishwasher.

Wait….what?  Bubbles aren’t supposed to be coming OUT of the dishwasher?  Since when?  You haven’t been to my house lately have you?

Ahem….Anyway, back to my story….

I couldn’t help it – I started laughing at the absurdity that Monkey wanted me….ME….to clean up the mess.  Actually, I think she just wanted me to stop laughing as I was freaking her out (normally, I’d be yelling at something like this….I am evil after all), but I realized this was a small issue in the grand scheme of life.  And, AND!   If I played my cards right, the floor would actually get mopped tonight.

Sure enough, it was Buddy’s turn to wash dishes and he had even asked how much liquid soap to put in the dispenser before starting the dishwasher.  Of course, at this point, we all know that he put the wrong soap in the dispenser, but that doesn’t change the fact that there is now a huge mess to clean up.

And, since it was Buddy that screwed up, everyone else had to see for themselves that he actually made a mess on a grand scale and secretly be thankful it wasn’t them that had to clean up the mess.  Buddy took the news that he had a mess to clean up with good grace and listened and looked at the difference in soap containers so he’d be sure not to make the same mistake twice.

All in all, the dishes in the machine will have to be washed another 2-3 times to get all of the soap gone, the floor is now clean, Buddy has learned a valuable lesson for his future home, I learned not to take things too seriously all of the time, I got a good laugh in, and hopefully this brings a smile to your face as well.

Vacation Countdown Day 25!!

