I had a very eclectic childhood.  Or, at least, I like to think I did.  I realize a lot of people will disagree with me on that, but others will agree wholeheartedly.

I mean, how many people in the 30-40 year old age range can say breaking down on the side of the road while on vacation is no big deal?  What about living in a 100+ year old house as a child that you swore was haunted?  Or that knows the difference between a Corvette and a Corvair?  Do you know all of the words to the song “Beep Beep” by the Playmates?

Having been exposed to all of the various things in my relatively short life so far, has given me some perspectives into things that others lack.  By around age 8 or 9, I was very adept at reading a road map and all of the nuances that involve a map.  Need a bathroom break?  There’s a rest stop with facilities coming up in 12.4 miles – and no, I don’t need an electronic GPS to tell me this.  I can tell you which way is North if you give me a few seconds.  I’m the go-to person in my office for giving anyone directions to anywhere.

Jumping into a vehicle, I can usually tell you if something is wrong with the engine before anyone else even notices that slight whine.  The hours spent on the side of the road, waiting to be “rescued” from a break-down has taught me to never ignore a sound, hiccup, hesitation or shudder from any of my vehicles.  I know what sounds are old age and what issue is a new problem from the moment the engine cranks.  I’ve also learned that breaking down is very low on the “panic” list – especially since I’ve been broken down in about 15 different states so far.

But the thing I most notice amiss in my life is popular culture items.  Hun will ask me about movies and music he remembers growing up with and I’ll look at him with a “huh”?  I’ve never seen “The Breakfast Club” or “Sixteen Candles” or “Ferris Buhler’s Day Off”.  I have never lain in my bed scared to go to sleep because I’ve never seen “Nightmare on Elm Street”, but I was terrified of “The Day of the Triffids”.  I don’t remember most of the music from the 80’s because I was listening to the music from the 50’s, 60’s, and 70’s.  Growing up, we only had network TV, no cable, so I missed the whole MTV revolution.  As for current events – I just signed up for Facebook a few weeks ago.  I’ve been logged on a whole 3 times.  I am woefully behind the learning curve for my generation.

With this backdrop, you can now agree, yep – I’m strange!  So it should come to no surprise to anyone with how the conversation between LaLa, Hun and I went last night:

Hun comments to LaLa about something (I missed what – too busy with other things).

LaLa:   I know Nothing!! (her current favorite response besides, Like….um….like, you know….like!)

Me:   LaLa – you know you say that phrase exactly like Sergeant Shultz!

LaLa:   Who?

Me:   Sergeant Shultz, a character from the TV show Hogan’s Heroes.  He said the exact same thing with exactly the same tone of voice you just used.

Hun:   Who?

Me:   Seriously? You’ve never seen Hogan’s Heroes? You know – the bungling Nazi Sergeant that was always helping the prisoners out.

Hun:   I have no idea who you’re talking about!

Me:   <<<grumblegrumblegrumble>>

LaLa:   I know Nothing!

It’s conversations like this that makes me feel old.  And then I realize, I’m not old – I’ve just got a lot of useless junk and information stored in my head.  I’d clean it all out, but then – what would you do with all of your free time instead of reading my posts?

